Rep. Todd Akin’s Delegitimizing Rape

Rep. Todd Akin of Missouri said somethings I don’t wish to repeat here.  You can check it out here, and his apology here.

His words and his Apology got me worked up and I took to twitter to respond in a multiple tweet thread.  I thought I’d share that with you here.

@TshirtToby

  • OMG! Rep  You, sir, are an ass hole! “If it’s a legitimate rape, the female body has ways to try to shut that whole thing down”
  • That is an uniformed & crazy logic. You should never see the doctor who told you that again! But that is not why U are an Asshole
  • Your “Apology” did not even address the issue. the use of “legitimate rape” and can’t get you pregnant are!
  • Your assholeness derives from your assertions that there are illegitimate rapes and those are the kinds that lead to pregnancy.
  • Why can’t you say “I made a mistake” or “I’m Sorry” or “I’m an idiot for even letting those word out of my mouth” I’d move on.
  • And note I did not mention abortion until now. Your view on abortion is yours. I will not sit by and let you demean rape victims.
  • If someone you knew came up and told you that they were raped, would you wonder if it was legitimate? would you ask her if it was?
  • There are people who listen to you, who take what you say as important. Don’t let your words debase others. It harms everyone.


Leave a Reply

