Pull Back the Cover – #Toby4Gov

“Never judge a book by its cover.” One of the overused but still relevant clichés in our culture.  Media puts people, especially in politics, into neatly labeled categories.  Whenever some large event or issue comes up they will introduce pundits with a “D” or an “R” next to their name.  Immediately you know what side of an issue they are going to take.

Whether they will complement or complain is already certain.  They each will have memorized talking points that have been given to them by the parties that are well researched and focus grouped till they have lost all originality.  They take lessons on how to talk during on camera interviews.  How to sit still, and to only react with their heads.  Their clothes are screen tested, foreheads are powdered.  And water is (hopefully) placed within arm’s reacIMG_20140423_120054h.

When we label ourselves as Democrat or Republican, Libertarian or Progressive you are already being judge by your cover.  If you run with a “D” or an “R” next to your name 40% of people already know if there are voting for you or not.

Big media and our political system leaves only 2 sides of any issue to be discussed.  But we don’t live in a world of absolutes.  We don’t even live on a line of grey.  We live in a world with many spectrums of beliefs.  From the avid hunter who wants to protect the environment, keep his guns, and end the wars to the union worker that fights for deregulation, money for schools, and against the NSA.

I choose to run with no party next to my name because I do not fit the prefabricated box of any political party.  Many Progressives and Constitutionalists agree that the NSA has violated the constitution with its spying on Americans and so do I.  Many Libertarian and Green party members believe in the legalization of marijuana and so do I.

I want to be hard to put a book cover on.  My name will not have a “D” or an “R” next to it.  I want people to hear my positions and agree or disagree with those positions not because of an affiliation but because you have your own opinion on it.  And I want to hear your thoughts.

I have put forward many positions on several issues and am working on a comprehensive platform.  If there is issues that you want to know my opinion on, let me know.  I’d be glad to share it.  I won’t dodge questions by repeating talking points.  I won’t attempt to run out the clock with run-on sentences.  I will listen to what you have to say.

We can change the world together if we listen to each other.

Toby Sterling
Toby4Gov@gmail.com

Facebook

Twitter

Leave a Reply

